I have a confession to make

I came across my 2017 New Year’s resolutions. I have come to the realization I must have been listening to Nickelback’s Rock star when I wrote it. I was almost embarrassed when reading the I want, I want. I clearly was writing in Ego and not Spirit. The ones that were more realistic materialized.

It is amazing when we decide what really is important and no, plastic surgery and a mansion is not realistic for most of us. Sometimes we or someone we know develops a disease that is life changing. That is one of the quickest ways to get a reality check of priorities. Or a loss of job and income will change our perspectives.

For this year I took a different path with my resolutions. A big part is what I don’t want. Clutter, gossip, negative social media, overbooked calendars and unnecessary spending. Some of the things I do want are better health, healthier lifestyle, more down time to meditate, more family time, instead of chasing my dreams start putting them into reality and cut myself some slack that no one is perfect.

I read an article that we should be silent observers. No that does not mean to stand by and let injustice happen. But to not get sucked into drama that is a constant in our environment. I found myself getting worked up about things out of my control. It would make me angry, I spent too much energy on it. After reading this article I chose to practice being a silent observer and it has made a big difference on where I choose to spend my energy. Just being neutral inside and letting the anger go. Have you heard the expression “If it doesn’t matter in 5 years do not waste 5 minutes thinking about it.” I choose to be happy, calm and reflective. Then I can choose my wants in Spirit and not in Ego.

This year I choose to live my authentic live without fear of judgement or expectation.

Leave a comment